Awards for student achievement, Faculty Person of the Year, and other awards were presented Wednesday during the annual Omicron Delta Kappa (ODK) Honors Assembly at Morningside College.

Awards for student achievement, Faculty Person of the Year, and other awards were presented Wednesday during the annual Omicron Delta Kappa (ODK) Honors Assembly at Morningside College.

ODK is a national leadership honor society that recognizes and encourages superior scholarship, leadership and exemplary character.

Chris Spicer, associate professor of mathematics, was selected by the students in ODK as the Faculty Person of the Year for his outstanding contributions to Morningside and its students.

The First-Year Teaching/Advising Award went to Gail Dooley, professor of music. The award, presented with assistance from the General Board of Higher Education and Ministry of the United Methodist Church, is given to an exemplary teacher who has helped first-year students succeed in making the transition into college.

Donna Galati Huls, writing center consultant, was selected by the students in ODK as the Staff Member of the Year.

The Tommeraasen Award of Excellence for the outstanding campus organization went to the International Student Association and Kiosk magazine.

The Student Government Event of the Year was the poverty simulation organized by the Morningside Civic Union.

The ODK Sophomore Cup was awarded to Jordan Heim of Madison, S.D. This award is given annually to a sophomore for outstanding leadership and campus participation.

The Alpha Lambda Delta Maria Leonard Senior Book Award for the graduating member of the freshman women’s honor society with the highest grade point average was presented to Michaela Ingalls of Sioux City; Mara Robertson of Sioux City; and Audri Swisher of Spearfish, S.D.

Jacque Carlson of Emmetsburg, Iowa, was recognized for being this year’s Alpha Lambda Delta nominee for the national honor society’s Jo Anne J. Trow national scholarship.

Brayton Hagge of Fordyce, Neb., was recognized as the recipient of a $1,000 Alpha Lambda Delta Stemler Study Abroad Scholarship.

The Phi Eta Sigma Senior Book Award for the graduating member of the national freshman honor society with the highest grade point average went to Jon Hoaglund of Carroll, Iowa.

The Robert “Bob” Miller Academic Student-Athlete of the Year Awards, presented in Miller’s memory by his family to the senior male and female student athletes who have demonstrated outstanding academic and athletic performances during their Morningside careers, were presented to Josh Karel of Lincoln, Neb., and Audri Swisher of Spearfish, S.D. Karel is on the men’s swim team, and Swisher is on the women’s tennis team.

The following departmental awards were presented:


Marion Shapiro Art Award, presented in Shapiro’s memory by her family and friends to the student who best represents her commitment to excellence in art and life: Amber Burg, Murray, Neb.

Outstanding Art Awards, by class: junior, Brianna Harding, Council Bluffs, Iowa; sophomore, Joelle Kruger, Woodward, Iowa; and freshman, Lauren Lehmkuhl, Wakefield, Neb.

Arts Administration

Outstanding Arts Administration Student Award: Alexis McKee, Sergeant Bluff, Iowa.

Biology and Chemistry

Stephen Jay Gould Award, presented to a student who best exemplifies the spirit of the liberal arts college and has a record of excellence in biology and chemistry as well as the humanities: Sarah Sorenson, Sioux Falls, S.D.

Outstanding Biology Student of the Year Award: Jon Hoaglund, Carroll, Iowa; and Audri Swisher, Spearfish, S.D.

Outstanding Chemistry Student of the Year Award: Sam Shelton, Sioux Falls, S.D.

Business Administration and Economics

Outstanding Accounting Student Awards: Alex Kurtenbach, Columbus, Neb., and Randi Corona, Sioux City.

Outstanding Business Administration Student Awards: Hope Forman, Glenwood, Iowa, and Jessie Byrnes, Harlan, Iowa.

Outstanding Advertising/Marketing Student Award: Drew Nolan, Hawarden, Iowa.

Economics, Political Science and Sociology

James Miller Award in Political Science, for the political science student who exhibits extraordinary academic achievement in and out of the classroom: Amy Widman, Sergeant Bluff, Iowa.


Maxine Nelson Award: Carrie Zimmerer, Sioux City.

Marcia McNee Elementary Education Award: Stephanie Shever, Cushing, Iowa.

Dr. Sharon Ocker Endowed Scholarship for Secondary Education: Brayton Hagge, Fordyce, Neb.

Cathy (Posey) Simons Scholarship in Special Education, presented to the special education major who exemplifies her spirit of teaching: Katie Weis, Treynor, Iowa.


Margaret Coleman Crary Scholarship in Literary Arts, for the English student who is an outstanding writer: Sadie Shuck, Hinton, Iowa.

Bill and Lorraine Knepper Outstanding Junior English Student Award: Amanda Girres, Sergeant Bluff, Iowa.


Albert Sellen Award, for the senior history student who best exemplifies a sense of service to the department, to the college and to the field of history that marked Sellen’s career: Jacey Tomhave, Hermitage, Pa.

James Miller Award in History, for the history student who exhibits extraordinary academic achievement in and out of the classroom: Jack O’Brien, Sioux City.

Mass Communication

Outstanding Mass Communication Student: Paige Potter, Laurens, Iowa.

Outstanding Media Contributor: Jianna Hoss, Sioux City.

Mathematical Sciences

Elsie Mueller Math Scholarship: Alyssa Turnquist, Alta, Iowa.

The Terra International Scholarship for Computer Science: Anthony Heimer, St. Ansgar, Iowa.

Robert Wood Green Physics Scholarship: Logan Rozeboom, Hartley, Iowa.

Modern Languages

Department Of Modern Languages Book Award: Gigi Austin, Sioux City; Taylor Hughes, Council Bluffs, Iowa; Josh Karel, Lincoln, Neb.; and Sarah Sorenson, Sioux Falls, S.D.

Dr. John Doohen Award for Excellence in Modern Languages: Bethany Kluender, Huxley, Iowa.

Gahlon Family Study Abroad Scholarship: Michelle Garibay, Sioux City; Kaylin Petersen, Lake Park, Iowa; and Alex Sullivan, Berthoud, Colo.


Professional Development and Academic Achievement in Nursing Awards: Kay Drenkhahn, Mapleton, Iowa; Taylor Sondag, Glenwood, Iowa; and Erin Wissink, Early, Iowa.

Performing Arts

Marvin and Merry Klass Endowed Music Scholarship: Katsuhiro Ishii, Tokyo, Japan.

Dorothy Paulson McLarnon Music Scholarship, for a junior or senior vocal music student showing exceptional potential: Noah Towns, Sioux City.

Philosophy and Religious Studies

Robert Jewett Senior Book Award, for the outstanding graduating senior with a major or minor in religious studies: Lynae Toom, Pella, Iowa.

Writing and Rhetoric

First-Year Studies Award for Narrative Writing: Heather Eisele, Hastings, Neb.

First-Year Studies Award for Persuasive Writing: Kathryn Brown, Sioux City.