Steve O’Neill received the Most Valuable Player award at the men’s basketball team’s post-season awards banquet.

Steve O’Neill

Steve O’Neill, a 6-0 senior guard from Council Bluffs, Iowa, received the Most Valuable Player award for the Morningside College men’s basketball team at the Mustangs’ recent post-season awards banquet.

O’Neill, a NAIA Division II First-Team All-American, was the Mustangs’ leading scorer with an average of 18.3 points per game. He scored in double figures in 31 of the Mustangs’ 33 contests and had the team’s highest single-game scoring performance of the season with 31 points in a 112-100 victory against William Penn University. He made a team-high 70 3-point field goals, was the nation’s third leading free throw shooter with 145 free throws in 164 attempts for 88.4 percent, and topped the Mustangs with 124 assists for an average of 3.8 per game.

Tanner Miller, a 6-1 senior guard from Gretna, Neb., received the Defensive Player of the Year award. Miller led the Mustangs with 71 steals for an average of 2.2 per game and finished his career with 228 steals for the second highest total in Morningside history.

Andrew Christen, a 6-5 senior forward from Anselmo, Neb., received the Most Improved award. Christen averaged 10.2 points and a team-high 5.7 rebounds and 1.5 blocked shots per game in his first season in the starting lineup.

Shane Hennen, a 6-2 senior guard from Ghent, Minn., received the Mustang Award for overcoming adversity.

Matt Klemme, a 6-5 sophomore center from Spencer, Iowa, received the Arnold Award for weight lifting.

Joseph Christen, a 6-3 junior guard from Anselmo, Neb., received the Academic Player of the Year award.

Morningside finished the 2014-15 season with a 28-5 record for its second highest victory total in school history. The Mustangs posted a 17-3 record in the Great Plains Athletic Conference (GPAC) to share the league championship with Dakota Wesleyan University en route to their fifth NAIA Division II National Tournament appearance in the last 10 years, where they defeated Tabor College 86-79 in the opening round before they suffered a 72-70 second round setback against the University of Saint Francis.