Michelle Mumm broke the Morningside record in the 1000-meters to earn NAIA All-America honors.

Michelle Mumm

Michelle Mumm, a senior from Neola, Iowa, set a school record and earned NAIA All-America honors with a fifth place finish in the women’s 1000-meters on Saturday at the 2018 NAIA Indoor Track & Field National Championships in Pittsburg, Kan.

Mumm ran a time of 2:55.55 to break the former Morningside record of 2:56.75 set by Breanna Mathes at the 2011 NAIA Indoor National Championships.

Anna Shields of Point Park University finished first in the 1000-meters with a time of 2:46.22 for a victory margin of just under six seconds over runner-up Katie Bosch of Northwestern College, who ran a 2:52.18.

Mumm was one of five Morningside runners who earned NAIA All-America honors in Saturday’s individual event finals.

Jason Kenny, a senior from Schaller, Iowa, had the highest individual finish among the Mustangs’ All-Americans with a fourth place time of 2:28.55 in the men’s 1000-meters.

Luke Runyan of Indiana Tech won the 1000-meters with a time of 2:25.45.

Jacob Green, a senior from Sioux Falls, S.D., finished fifth in the men’s 800-meters with a time of 1:53.32. Isaac Clark of Friends University won the 800-meter national title with a time of 1:51.21.

Jason Kenny

Reece Jackson, a junior from Marcus, Iowa, earned NAIA All-America honors for the first time in his career with a seventh place time of 8.26 seconds in the men’s 60-meter high hurdles.

Chris Grinley of Keiser University won the event with a time of 7.90 seconds.

Payton Boer, a junior from Sioux Center, Iowa, finished eighth in the women’s 800-meters with a time of 2:17.00.

Adri Sigafoose of Aquinas led the field with a time of 2:12.73.

Boer and Mumm ran the leadoff and anchor legs to help lead the Mustangs to NAIA All-America distinction with a fifth place finish in the women’s distance medley relay. Eleka Joseph, a senior from Saint John’s, Antigua, and Emalee Fundermann, a freshman from Anthon, Iowa, ran the middle two legs to help the Mustangs finish with a time of 12:09.22.

Aquinas won the event with a time of 11:58.78.