Morningside presented its 2021 Sharon Walker Faculty Excellence Awards to Anni Moore, Elizabeth Coody, and Twyla Rosenbaum.

Morningside University presented its 2021 Sharon Walker Faculty Excellence Awards to Anni Moore, associate professor of biology; Elizabeth Coody, assistant professor of religious studies; and Twyla Rosenbaum, associate professor of accounting.

Anni MooreAnni MooreMoore arrived at Morningside in 2014. She teaches courses in microbiology, immunology, epidemiology, genetics, anatomy, and critical inquiry and communication. Moore is also the principal investigator for Morningside’s S-STEM grant, a $999,337 National Science Foundation grant that expands scholarships for Morningside STEM students from rural areas that integrates civic engagement opportunities into STEM curriculum. She received a B.S. and Ph.D. in biological sciences from Northern Illinois University.

Elizabeth CoodyElizabeth CoodyCoody came to Morningside in 2018. She teaches a variety of religious studies courses and advises students on the X-Path, Morningside’s version of Undecided. Coody’s professional interests include the intersections of religion and everyday life including popular culture, gender and sexuality, and interdisciplinary and interfaith dialogue, and her professional writing often engages with the Bible and comics. She earned a B.A. in English from Centenary College of Louisiana, M.A. in religious studies from the Iliff School of Theology, and Ph.D. in religious and theological studies from the University of Denver and Iliff School of Theology.

Twyla RosenbaumTwyla RosenbaumRosenbaum joined the Morningside faculty in 2003. In addition to her teaching experience, she spent two decades in both public and private accounting and business. Rosenbaum received a B.A. in accounting from Briar Cliff University, M.B.A. from the University of South Dakota School of Business, and Juris Doctorate degree from the University of South Dakota School of Law.

The recipients, selected from a field of applicants by a panel of three outside evaluators, each received a $10,000 honorarium and $2,000 to use for faculty development. Morningside alumni Jim and Sharon Walker established the Sharon Walker Faculty Excellence Awards in 2003. Criteria for selection include teaching excellence, effective advising, scholarship, and service to Morningside University. The awards are based upon the accomplishments and activities of a faculty member during the previous academic year.