Sioux City, Iowa – Morningside students and faculty were recognized with awards for student achievement, Faculty Person of the Year, and other awards in conjunction with Omicron Delta Kappa’s (ODK) Honors Convocation at Morningside College.

ODK is a national leadership honor society that recognizes and encourages superior scholarship, leadership, and exemplary character.

Stephen Coyne, retired associate professor of English, was selected by the students in ODK to receive the Dr. Bruce Forbes Faculty of the Year Award for his outstanding contributions to Morningside and its students. Coyne recently retired after almost 30 years of service to Morningside College.

Regina Bade, Director of the Academic Support Center, received the Staff Member of the Year Award.

The Tommeraasen Award of Excellence for the outstanding campus organization went to the Morningside Ag Club.

The Student Government Event of the Year went to the Morningside Ag Club for their Homecoming Grill-Out event.

The ODK Freshman of the Year was awarded to Collin Adank of Waterville, Minn. This award is given annually to a freshman who has shown great leadership and participation in their first year on campus.

The ODK Sophomore Cup was awarded to Lindsay Williams of Cherokee, Iowa. This award is given annually to sophomores for outstanding leadership and campus participation.

ODK Students of the Month include Ally Hecht of Lansing, Kan.; Collin Adank of Waterville, Minn.; Lindsay Williams of Cherokee, Iowa; Mackenzie Bennett of Ankeny, Iowa; Kayla Schimpf of Guffey, Colo.; and Anna Van Dusen of Ida Grove, Iowa.

The Alpha Lambda Delta freshman women’s honor society presented the Maria Leonard Senior Book Award for the graduating member with the highest-grade point average to Katy Miller of Sergeant Bluff, Iowa and Abby Fitzgerald of Fairmont, Minn.

The Phi Eta Sigma Senior Book Award for the graduating member of the national freshman honor society with the highest-grade point average went to Mason Hahne of Hartington, Neb., Derrick Johnson of Plymouth, Minn., and Joel Katzer and Jacob Katzer of Wellsville, Kan.

The Robert “Bob” Miller Academic Student-Athlete of the Year Awards, presented in Miller’s memory by his family to the senior male and female student-athletes who have demonstrated outstanding academic and athletic performances during their Morningside careers, was presented to Joel and Jacob Katzer of Wellsville, Kan., and Grace Nordquist of Panora, Iowa. The Katzers are both members of the football team and Nordquist is a member of the women’s swim team.

The Col. Bud Day Center for Civic Engagement’s Campus Engagement and Leadership Award was awarded to Garrett Arbuckle of Littleton, Colo., and Jemar Lee of Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

Volunteer awards for participation in the Campus Compact Americorps Program were presented to Reannan Taylor of Spencer, Iowa, Braxton Hinders of Carlisle, Iowa, and Jemar Lee of Cedar Rapids, Iowa.

Applied Agricultural and Food Studies

Outstanding Agriculture Senior Award: Jacob Holck


Marion Shapiro Art Award, presented in Shapiro’s memory by her family and friends to the student who best represents her commitment to excellence in art and life, was awarded to Tani Russell of Sioux City, Iowa.

Outstanding Art Awards by class: junior Elizabeth Obermeier of Indianola, Iowa; sophomore Giuseppe Del Rio Broggi of Lima, Peru; and freshman Toryn Kelly of Moville, Iowa.

Outstanding Arts Administration Senior Rae Clinkenbeard of Denison, Iowa.

Biology and Chemistry

Faculty Award in Biology: Jacob and Joel Katzer of Wellsville, Kan.

Faculty Award in Chemistry: Sam Protexter of Sioux City, Iowa.

Stephen Jay Gould Award, presented to a student who best exemplifies the spirit of the liberal arts college and has a record of excellence in biology and chemistry as well as the humanities: Riley Custer of Gilbert, Ariz.

Biology and Chemistry Department Service Awards: Kayla Schimpf of Guffey, Colo., and Sam Protextor of Sioux City, Iowa.

Business Administration

Iowa Society of CPAs Outstanding Accounting Senior: Gabrielle Roe of Sioux City, Iowa.

Institute of Management Accountants Outstanding Accounting Senior: Rachel DeJong of Leota, Minn.

Outstanding Business Administration Student: Mason Hahne of Hartington, Neb.

Outstanding Advertising Senior: Makaelyn Glienke of Cherokee, Iowa.


Maxine Nelson Scholarship: Carson Cameron of Herman, Neb.; Rebeca Fajardo of Cherokee, Iowa; Morgan Rosenboom of Boyden, Iowa; Mandi Stansberry of Fremont, Neb.; and Lindsay Williams of Cherokee, Iowa.

Dr. Sharon Ocker Endowed Scholarship for Secondary Education: Krista Zavadil of Fordyce, Neb.

Marcia Mcnee Award: Becky Bleil of Moville, Iowa; Sara Jaques of Sergeant Bluff, Iowa; Jordyn Moser of Harlan, Iowa; Morgan Skinner of Sergeant Bluff, Iowa; and Alison Wright of Rock Rapids, Iowa.


Bill and Lorraine Knepper Award for an Outstanding Junior English Student: Kassidy Hart of Omaha, Neb.

Margaret Coleman Crary Scholarship in Literary Arts for the English student who is an outstanding writer: Taylor Van Vliet of Lincoln, Neb.

Mathematical Sciences

Elsie C. Muller Math Scholarship: Ethan Wyant of Jesup, Iowa.

The Terra International Scholarship for Computer Science: James Spicer of Rock Springs, Wyo.


Professional Development and Academic Achievement in Nursing Award: Lauren Rohwer of Aurelia, Iowa; Emily Thompson of Brandon, S.D; and Kelsey Diggins of Whittemore, Iowa.

Political and Social Science

James Miller Award in Political Science, for the political science student who exhibits extraordinary academic achievement in and out of the classroom: Macie Moore of Elkhorn, Neb.

Extraordinary Achievement in Political Science Award: Kailyn Robert of Osage City, Kan.

Religious Studies

Robert Jewett Senior Book Award for the outstanding graduating senior with a major or minor in religious studies: Tani Russell of Sioux City, Iowa.