Morningside College announces 2018 Walker Faculty Excellence Awards recipients

December 19, 2018, in Latest News

Hendrix-Case LaPaglia Rosenbaum

Morningside College has presented its 2018 Sharon Walker Faculty Excellence Awards to Dr. Suzanne Hendrix-Case, assistant professor of music; Dr. Jessica LaPaglia, assistant professor of psychology; and Twyla Rosenbaum, associate professor of business administration.

Morningside President John Reynders presented the awards during the annual faculty banquet held recently on the Morningside College campus. The recipients, selected from a field of applicants by a panel of three outside evaluators, will each receive a $10,000 honorarium and $2,000 to use for faculty development.

Morningside alumni Jim and Sharon Walker of Wayzata, Minn., established the Sharon Walker Faculty Excellence Awards in 2003.

Criteria for selection include teaching excellence, effective advising, scholarship and service to Morningside College. The awards are based upon the accomplishments and activities of a faculty member during the previous academic year.

Hendrix-Case started teaching at Morningside in 2016. She has bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the University of Northern Iowa and a doctorate from the University of Missouri–Kansas City Conservatory.

LaPaglia joined the Morningside faculty in 2013. She has a bachelor’s degree from Augsburg College and master’s and doctoral degrees from Iowa State University.

Rosenbaum has been teaching at Morningside since 2006. She received a bachelor’s degree from Briar Cliff University and M.B.A. and law degrees from the University of South Dakota.

Evaluators for the 2018 Sharon Walker Faculty Excellence Awards were Dr. Molly M. Fitzke, associate professor of nursing, Nebraska Wesleyan University, Lincoln, Neb.; Dr. James L. Martin, professor of music, Cornell College, Mount Vernon, Iowa; and Dr. Patrick Mathews, professor of biology and director of zoo science and field biology, Friends University, Wichita, Kan.