Cody Holck fired a four-under par 139 to claim individual medalist honors at the Siouxland Invitational

Ferran Cortilla

Cody Holck

Cody Holck, a junior from Ankeny, Iowa, fired a four-under par 139 to win individual medalist honors at the Siouxland Invitational men’s golf tournament held Thursday and Friday in Sioux Center and Orange City, Iowa.

Holck edged Morningside teammate Ferran Cortilla, a junior from Barcelona, Spain, and Northwestern College’s Justin Kraft by two strokes to claim top honors. Cortilla and Kraft shared runner-up honors at two-under par 141.

Cortilla was the first round leader after he carded a three-under par 69 in Thursday’s opening round at The Ridge. Holck was in second place after an opening round two-under par 70 before he closed with a two-under par 69 in Friday’s final round at Landsmeer. Cortilla finished with a one-over par 72.

Northwestern edged Morningside 566 to 573 to win the team title. Morningside trailed the Red Raiders by six strokes after a first round 291. The Mustangs finished with a 282 in Friday’s final round for their lowest score in school history on an away course.

Corey Matthey

Ben Peterson

Holck led the Mustangs with a 69 in Friday’s final round. Reigning GPAC Men’s Golfer of the Year Corey Matthey, a sophomore from Sergeant Bluff, Iowa, was next with a 70. The Mustangs also counted a 71 from Ben Peterson, a junior from Saint Anthony, Minn., and a 72 from Cortilla. Their 282 broke the Mustangs’ previous school record score of 283 on an away course set in 1980 at Alton Country Club.

Matthey finished in fourth place in the individual standings with rounds of 72 and 70 for a 142.

Morningside’s junior varsity team finished seventh in the 12-team field with a score of 602. Matt McGhee, a sophomore from London, Canada, shot scores of 75 and 72 to finish 17th in the individual standings with a 147. Daniel Bone, a freshman from Haywards Heath, England, finished 20th with rounds of 73 and 75 for a 148.

Morningside will compete in the Texas Intercollegiate tournament on Sept. 11 and 12 in Fort Worth, Texas.