Four Mustang Wrestlers Named To All-GPAC First Team

Feb 26, 2014 • Athletics

Tyler Kacmarynski

Tyler Kacmarynski, Tyler Lashbrook, Kevin Olson, and Rulin Pederson were named to the 2013-14 All-Great Plains Athletic Conference (GPAC) Wrestling First Team as selected by the league’s head coaches.

Kacmarynski and Pederson are both repeat selections on the All-GPAC First Team.

In addition to their four first-team selections, the Mustangs’ Jake Stevenson was named the Hauff Mid-America Sports/GPAC Wrestling Coach of the Year for the second straight year.

Stevenson guided the Mustangs to a 12-6 dual record along with GPAC and NAIA North Qualifying Group Tournament championships. Stevenson has led the Mustangs to a 24-10 dual record and to a pair of GPAC championships in his two seasons at the helm.

Kacmarynski, a senior heavyweight from Spencer, Iowa, has a 24-4 record with seven falls. He leads the Mustangs in victories with his 24 triumphs and was an individual champion at this season’s University of Nebraska-Kearney Open. Kacmarynski has a 97-44 record with 23 falls during his career to rank sixth on the Mustangs’ all-time victory list.

Tyler Lashbrook

Lashbrook, a 149 lb. junior from Wellsburg, Iowa, has a 23-6 record with two falls. He joined the team in the off-season as a transfer from Ellsworth Community College. Lashbrook, the 149 lb. champion at the NAIA North Qualifying Group Tournament, has a 16-match winning streak since going 7-6 over his first 13 matches of the season.

Olson, a 141 lb. senior from Dallas, Ga., has a 22-9 record with three falls. Olson has a 17-3 record over his last 20 matches and has a 39-21 record with six falls during his two-year Morningside career.

Pederson, a 184 lb. junior from Sioux City, has a 9-3 record, including an 8-1 mark over his last nine matches. Pederson has a career record of 31-10 with four falls.

Kevin Olson

Morningside’s Harrison Johnson, Jordan Langley, Jared McCoy, and Nathan  Ryan were all named to the All-GPAC Second Team.

Johnson, a 165 lb. senior from Sterling, Colo., has a 19-13 record and is the Mustangs’ top pin specialist with a team-high 10 falls. Johnson is 9-2 over his last 11 bouts. He has a 57-43 record with 17 falls during his Morningside career.

Langley, a 157 lb. senior from Sergeant Bluff, Iowa, has a 21-11 record with four falls. Langley has a 71-41 record with 18 falls during his Morningside career.

McCoy, a 197 lb. freshman from Climbing Hill, Iowa, has a 10-6 record with two falls.

Rulin Pederson

Ryan, a 133 lb. sophomore from Moville, Iowa, has a 16-5 record with four falls and was an individual champion at this season’s York College Open. He has a 14-3 record over his last 17 matches to raise his career record to 42-21 with 10 falls.

Morningside’s Joe Sievert, a 184 lb. senior from Akron, Iowa, was named to the All-GPAC honorable mention list. Sievert, the 184 lb. champion at last Saturday’s NAIA North Qualifying Group Tournament, has a 9-1 record with two falls this season. He has an eight-match winning streak since he suffered a 9-4 loss against Grand View University’s Jimmie Schuessler while competing as a 174 pounder. Sievert has a career record of 93-15 with 34 falls to rank seventh on Morningside’s all-time victory list.

Click here for the complete 2013-14 All-GPAC Wrestling Team.