Dandy Dozen – Mside gains dual sweep

Nov 03, 2018 • Athletics

LINCOLN, NEB. – Eight men’s event victories and four women’s race titles gave head coach Bryan Farris and his Morningside College teams plenty to smile about Saturday, Nov. 3.

The Mustang men overpowered the host Nebraska Wesleyan University Prairie Wolves 150-112. The Maroon women picked up a close-knit 133-117 decision.

A recent trend of successful results for the men’s trio of junior Jake Kohorst (Elk River, Minn.), freshman Gage Dewsbury (Boise, Idaho) and junior Billy Salber (Omaha, Neb.) continued. Kohorst was the centerpiece, part of four individual victories in which he claimed the 100-yard backstroke (54.82 seconds), the 100-yard freestyle (50.25 seconds) and was on the first place 200-yard medley and freestyle relays. Salber was part of three wins joining the two relays and capturing the 200-yard butterfly (2:03.87), while Dewsbury was also on the relay rosters and won the 200-yard freestyle (1:49.24). 

The women were led by a quartet of victors. Senior Alisia Woodward (Waterloo, Iowa) hit the pad first in the 1000-yard freestyle, winning by over 14 seconds (12:12.42) and highlighting a sweep for the men’s and women’s squads in the event as freshman Ron DeFauw (Rock Springs, Wy.) was just as impressive leading the field by better than 12 seconds. Sophomore Tesse Renze (Omaha, Neb.) edged senior teammate Carly Johnson (Kansas City, Ks.) for the 200-yard butterfly which was also won by the men. Sophomore Emma Hansen (Fort Collins, Colo.) just missed a sub 60-second 100-yard freestyle (1:00.46) time, as she and Kohorst locked up the men’s and women’s firsts in the event. Freshman Samantha Masid (Plattsmouth, Neb.) turned in the remaining title, crossing first in the 100-yard butterfly (1:07.01).

Mside returns to its home Hindman-Hobbs Center pool for a big weekend of competition Friday and Saturday, Nov. 9 and 10. They face off against NCAA Division II Nebraska-Kearney and Iowa Lakes Community College of the National Junior College Athletic Association Friday in a 6 p.m. triangular and then host their annual invitational Saturday with a 12 p.m. start.