Neeia Coopewood was named the MVP in the women’s collegiate division of the Sioux City Relays for the second year in a row.

Neeia Cooperwood

Neeia Cooperwood, a junior from Omaha, Neb., won two events and placed second in another during Saturday’s action at the Sioux City Relays to win the MVP award in the women’s collegiate division for the second year in a row.

Cooperwood, who broke a school record while winning the 400-meters on Friday, added wins in the 100 and 200-meters on Saturday, including a school-record time of 24.11 seconds in a special invitation 200-meters. She broke her own Mustang standard of 24.30 she set last year. Cooperwood just missed breaking her school record time of 11.84 in the 100-meters with a winning time of 11.89.

Aside  from her sprint double, Cooperwood also finished second in the long jump with a distance of 19-5 1/4.

Morningside also had a Saturday victory in the men’s competition, where the quartet of Kyle Kinney, a junior from Sioux City; Michael Whitehead, a freshman from Le Mars, Iowa; Preston Nibaur, a senior from Austin, Minn.; and Nick Misukanis, a sophomore from Mendota Heights, Minn., won the 800-meter relay with a time of 1:29.89.

Morningside’s top finish in a women’s relay event came in the 3200-meter relay, where Shelby Hall, a sophomore from Woodbine, Iowa; Tori Figge, a freshman from Rock Rapids, Iowa; Tori Pothast, a freshman from Melbourne, Iowa; and Jennifer Petsche, a sophomore from Onawa, Iowa; finished third with a time of 9:34.13.

The Mustangs’ top individual finish in Saturday’s individual events came from Mark Abrams, a sophomore from Glenwood, Iowa, who finished second in the 5000-meters with a time of 15:36.94.

Nicole Ausborn, a junior from Nora Springs, Iowa, finished seventh in the women’s 3000-meter steeplechase with a time of 12:02.08; Tyler Wattier, a junior from Osmond, Neb., finished eighth in the men’s javelin with a distance of 155-11; and Sean Skillern, a freshman from Shenandoah, Iowa, finished ninth in the men’s 3000-meter steeplechase with a time of 10:32.69.