Morningside College presents Thompson Staff Excellence Awards

Dec 20, 2013
Jager Johnson Ryan
Stabile Swan Taylor

Morningside College has presented its 2013 Thomas S. Thompson Staff Excellence Awards to Tim Jager, athletics director; Kirk Johnson, physical plant director; Steve Ryan, head football coach; Joe Stabile, maintenance; Sherry Swan, administrative assistant; and Suzi Taylor, custodian. Johnson also was named staff employee of the year.

Morningside President John Reynders presented the awards at the annual holiday and recognition banquet held Thursday, Dec. 19, in the Olsen Student Center on Morningside’s campus. Award recipients each receive a $4,000 bonus. As employee of the year, Johnson receives $5,000.

Recipients were selected based upon their demonstration of outstanding dedication, service and commitment to Morningside and its students during the 2012-2013 academic year.

Funding for the annual awards comes from an endowment established by Margaret Thompson, wife of the late Thomas S. Thompson, who served as president of Morningside from 1969 to 1978. He died in 1999.

Jager came to Morningside in 2003 as head wrestling coach. Johnson joined the college in 1991 as a maintenance carpenter. Ryan has been head football coach at Morningside since 2001. Stabile started working for Morningside in 2001. Swan has been a Morningside employee since 2008. Taylor joined the college in 2007.